Currently Virginia’s DD Waivers provide twenty-seven different services to thousands of individuals throughout the state. The DD Waivers comprise of the Community Living Waiver, Family and Individual Waiver and the Building Independence Waiver. The Department of Medical Assistance (DMAS) administers the Waivers and the day-to-day operations are managed by the Office of Developmental Services within the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS).  Eligibility determination for the DD Waivers for Richmond City residents begins at RBHA’s Developmental Services Division. The division serves both individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities.    

Eligibility determination for the DD Waivers are based on three factors:  Diagnostic Eligibility, Functional Eligibility and Financial Eligibility. 

Diagnostic Eligibility – Individuals can meet eligibility through determination with either an intellectual or developmental disability diagnosis. 

To qualify under the determination of intellectual disability, individuals six years of age or older must have a psychological evaluation that indicates a diagnosis of an intellectual disability, the age of onset, and is reflective of the individual’s current level of functioning. Children under the age of 6 must have a psychological or standardized developmental evaluation that states the child has a diagnosis of an intellectual disability or is at developmental risk. It must also include the child’s current level of functioning. 

Under the determination of developmental disability, individuals three years and older must have a psychological, school or medical records completed by a credentialed professional (i.e. medical doctor, OT/PT, psychologist) that clearly identifies a severe, chronic disability of an individual that is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or a combination of both, other than a sole diagnosis of mental illness. The diagnosis must have manifested before the age of 22 and is likely to continue indefinitely. There must also be substantial functional limitations in three or more life areas (Ex. Self-Care, Learning, Mobility, etc.) 

Functional Eligibility - all individuals must meet the ICF-ID (Intermediate Care Facility- Intellectual Disability) level of care.  This is established by meeting the indicated dependency level on the Virginia Individual Disability Eligibility Survey (VIDES). For individuals 17 and younger, two or more categories must be met and for individuals 18 and older, three or more categories must be met.  Functional eligibility is determined by either the RBHA ID or DD Intake Coordinators.

Financial Eligibility - An eligibility worker from the local Dept. of Social Services determines an individual’s financial eligibility for Medicaid.  Some individuals who would not normally qualify financially for Medicaid may be eligible by receipt of DD waiver services.

Services provided through the DD waivers include:

  • Individual and Group Supported Employment

  • Workplace Assistance Services 

  • Community Engagement and Community Coaching

  • Group Day Services 

  • Consumer-Directed Personal Assistance, Respite and Companion services 

  • Residential Living Supports 

  • Shared and Supported Living 

  • In-Home Support Services 

  • Sponsored and Group Home Residential Options 

  • Community and Center-Based Crisis Supports 

  • Skilled and Private Duty Nursing 

  • Therapeutic Consultation 

  • Personal Emergency Response System (PERS) 

  • Assistive Technology and Environmental Modifications 

  • Transition Services 

  • Electronic Home-Based Services 

The CSB is the single point of entry to be placed on the DD waiver waitlist and access the DD Waivers. Support Coordination and other follow-along services are available for individuals that qualify.  For additional information refer to:


ID Children Support Coordination webpage
ID Adult Support Coordination webpage

Additional Resources: 

DBHDS website 
DMAS Website

Additional Information on all of the community-based waivers in the state of Virginia